chess online free

Chess Online Free

Participate and you will gain!
Funky name, real passions
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
divine_sun_cat ♡ 43 ( +1 | -1 )
Guilty or not guilty? I have to say I don't like people playing endlessly on in drawn positions, so i felt a bit guilty about this game.

board #1491893

problem is what do i do next time? can i assume an opponent better than me can play drawn endings or not? I still feel slightly guilty, but think i should have won the Q v Q+P engame anyway. Coyotefan - did i do wrong ? ;)
divine_sun_cat ♡ 16 ( +1 | -1 )
dumb cat ignore this post. cat is stupid.
of course i meant board #1452158

(sorry GG) :)
ccmcacollister ♡ 21 ( +1 | -1 )
Shades of a Golden Dawn... Well, you ARE the Divine_Sun_Cat.....

So, I guess its okay as long as you used your own magick....and were not channeling Aleister Crowley.

I have to go now & start sacrificing chickens; many chickens, till our game is done.
divine_sun_cat ♡ 14 ( +1 | -1 )
no magick i'd think that apparent.

if this is magic, i want my money back. and my chickens. What do you mean you've chopped their heads off?
ccmcacollister ♡ 130 ( +1 | -1 )
Well not exactly.... The Colonel beheads em. I just eatem. But of course only after holding em over my head and spinning widdershins 3 times. You know, the usual.

I have to believe that in your game, after spending 80-90+ moves grinding away with winning chances , surely you were entitled to play out the last 6 or 8 of the drawn ending. Besides that, I've alway thought winning the draw tends to prove out the correctness making the exception to play it, myself. The "being right goes a long way" school of thought. A hard lesson for the other player there, for sure.
He had to know better. But hopefully will use it as a reminder, that saves many future points. That ONE CARELESS MOVE happens to everyone I believe. Seen GM's do it. Not THAT one move. But you know. My own personal favorite in OTB is to enter a winning combination making the 2nd move 1st. Its funny how they don't win so much that way. :)
Its not like you drove the car he stepped in front of . More like knowingly boxing & he happened to look the other way when a haymaker was already on the way.
But if it bothers you I suppose you could just make an early draw the next time some guy gives yoiu a pawn, you know ??!! Specially if he's sposed to know what he's doin but just goes crazy and sac's a pawn out of the blue or somethin....[:-O
sly_lonewolf ♡ 42 ( +1 | -1 )
Hey... Spare the chickens, please!
...They're already going thru bad times here because of the much feared 'bird flu' (Avian Influenza - H5N1). Well, I had the 'human flu' sometimes but hey, I never did killed anyone...yet! Of course, that didn't take into account the severe head damage I've caused to not a few souls because of my tendency to sneeze erraticly! Hehehe :D
So, spare them chickens please..!
tyekanyk ♡ 23 ( +1 | -1 )
cut the rambling Divine_sun cat there shouldn't be doubt in your mind that you had the winning ending since the 30th move. Your statement that you should have won the Q+p vs. Q is also correct. I'll pass on the chikens and end my post here.
atrifix ♡ 58 ( +1 | -1 )
Not so As a general rule, the stronger side of KQP vs. KQ endings only wins when Black's king is sufficiently far away from stepping in front of the pawn. In your game, looking only at the queen ending, this was never the case (discounting 74. Kd3?? which should have lost after 74... Qe4+ 75. Kc3 and ...f4-f3-f2-f1. e.g., 75... Qe3+ 76. Kc2 f4 77. Qg2+ Kh4 78. Qh2+ Kg4 79. Qg2+ Qg3 80. Qe2+ Kh3 81. Qe6+ Kh2 82. Qh6+ Kg2 83. Qc6+ f3 and wins. 74... Qh4?? leaves us back at the drawn queen ending). At very high levels, you can't really expect to win many games like this, but there's nothing stopping you, not even unwritten etiquette rules, from testing your endgame technique.
slowdive ♡ 44 ( +1 | -1 )
tragic How could White have played such a careless 95. Kf1 instead of 95. Ke1 (which
draws) after such a long game? What a waste. I feel bad for White.

I certainly would have offered the draw as Black. I figured that even if I won
by some strange accident, I didn't deserve the win and would have to give the
rating points back eventually anyway. On the other hand, if it was a decisive
tournament game....
divine_sun_cat ♡ 5 ( +1 | -1 )
slowdive i take your point, but i think i did deserve the win.
than77 ♡ 86 ( +1 | -1 )
Of course!! ...You deserved the win. The fact that it was objectively drawn was proven
irrelevant by your opponents careless endgame play. I might or might not have
offered a draw at some point earlier but there is rarely such a thing as a truly drawn
position between class-players. We can screw up just about anything! ;-) I think
we sometimes wind up in a reach-exceeds-grasp situation when we amateurs begin
talking about the "truth" of a position. There might be one truth if GMs who have
flawless endgame technique are playing out a position, and quite another "truth" if a
fishy like me is involved. Although it can be annoying, I can never really fault the
player who is a pawn up for wanting to play on because the possibility exists that I
will make a careless move. Solution? I gots to study me endgame fundeementals.